Skip to content

Lemon Lime Tart (Easter Dinner)

April 21, 2009

Lemon Lime Tart

For the final treat of my Easter Dinner, I served a lemon-lime tart based off of my Meyer Lemon Tartlet creation from a couple weeks ago.

I once again was thoroughly pleased with the frozen vodka substituted in place for the cold water; and when rolling-out the dough,  I proclaimed that it was the best dough I had ever prepared. It was elastic, free of grease and rolled smoothly without the need for a snowstorm of flour.  Then of course an emergency phone call came in ;which caused me to have to re-roll the dough out and it lost some of its perfection – dough is never as good on a second roll.  In baking the hardest thing for me to learn to do is slow down and pay attention to details.  I am naturally the type of person who likes to just jump in and give it a go, and clean-up mistakes as they happen.  This risk-taking attitude doesn’t translate well to baking because mistakes are usually hard to fix. But I repeat my new mantra, “haste makes waste” (or po polsku Spiesz Się Powoli) and it helps me slow down.

ANYWHO, since my Easter theme was spring green, I decided to throw a little key lime into my lemon tart.  I served desert with a 2007 Brander Moscato Di Fredi (yes we drink Brander a lot as we are members of the club).  This delightful desert wine is just a tad sweet and just a tad effervescent.   Its a refreshing way to end a meal, with apricots and orange zest exploding in your mouth.  The lightly floral nose paired well with the other wines of the evening.

LEMON-LIME TART

Ingredients:

For crust:
1 cups 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons almond meal
3 tablespoons sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, cold and cut into pieces
1 large egg
2 tbsp vodka frozen
2 teaspoon grated key lime peel
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

For filling:
4 egg yolks
2 teaspoons meyer lemon zest
2 teaspoons key lime zest
1 can (14 oz) sweetened condensed milk
1/4 cup meyer lemon juice, strained (around 2 lemons)
1/4 cup key lime juice*, strained

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Place dry crust ingredients in a food processor and pulse. Add cold butter and pulse until the texture of cornmeal. Add remaining ingredients and pulse until blended into one large ball of dough. Place the dough on plastic wrap, flatten to a disc and wrap. Place dough in refrigerator for 30 minutes.
  3. Roll dough out on a floured surface into a 1/8 inch thick circle, cut a round 2 inches greater than your tart pan.
  4. Gently place the dough into the tart pan without stretching it and pat it firmly into the bottom and side of the pan. Trim the excess dough from the edge by running a rolling pin over the top.
  5. Refrigerate the tart for 30 minutes.
  6. Remove the tart from the fridge and line with parchment paper. Fill with pie weights. Place the tart in the oven and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until pale gold (and no longer wet). Remove the parchment paper and pie weights and return to the oven for 7-10 more minutes or until golden. Remove and place on wire rack to cool.
  7. Lower the oven temperature to 350 degrees.
  8. In a large bowl, whisk egg yolks, lemon zest and lime zest. Combine the remaining ingredients and beat until well-mixed. Pour into the tart and bake for an additional 12-14 minutes, until firm in the center.
  9. Let cool and set before serving for about 1-2 hours. I garnished with candied orange sections.

* If you can’t find fresh Key Limes (which I have had trouble with the last 2 years) my favorite packaged version is Manhattan Key Lime Juice, which I order directly from the manufacturer.  There is always a bottle on hand in my pantry in case I need to whip up my famous key lime cheesecake.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One Comment leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    May 29, 2009 10:36 pm

    I had the pleasure of having this dessert made by heidiesq. It is absolutely delicious! The lemon-lime filling is so yummy. As for the pastry crust – well, what can I say… perfection.

Leave a Reply

