Skip to content

Chicken and Asparagus (Easter Dinner)

April 20, 2009

In keeping with the Spring Green theme for Easter dinner, I served roasted new potatoes, chicken, asparagus and lemon which was a one-dish wonder inspired by Martha Stewart (that woman seriously is a Polish goddess minus the whole jail rat bit).  One problem about only eating seafood, is the fact that I find myself attending to the kitchen more often than hosting my guests because fish has such short and picky cooking timing.  This dish was great for entertaining because it didnt require a lot of attention (or reheating), leaving me more time with the deliriously lovely couple I had over (and I had saved my self some crab puffs, so I didn’t go hungry).

For the entree, I switched the wine to a 2006 Kangarilla Road Shiraz/ Viognier blend which was DIVINE.  Seriously, perhaps I had already had a lot to drink but my hubby and I both immediately declared we wanted to order a case.   Blackberries and Oranges combined to form a complex and enjoyable palate and just a hint of oak for warmth, without making it the vanilla special.  I wasn’t surprised to learn that a previous vintage had received an RP 93.  For $20, this is a great wine to show off, and had just enough acidity to pair well with food.   I had happened to have another Shiraz/Viognier blend (whose name I failed to write down) which we turned to when the Kangarilla bottles were finished; and to my sadness I learned that it wasnt the blend that made the Kangarilla wine so special but the expert wine-making of the winemaker.  I will start keeping my eyes open for other Kangaralla wines!!

Chicken and Asparagus

ROASTED ASPARAGUS, POTATOES, AND CHICKEN

Ingredients

1 1/2 pounds new potatoes, halved
3 tablespoons butter, cut into small pieces
Coarse salt and ground pepper
1 cut-up whole chicken (about 3 pounds)
1 bunch asparagus (1 pound), trimmed and cut into 2-inch pieces
2 lemons, cut into wedges
6 sprigs fresh thyme

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 475 degrees. Place potatoes and half the butter in a roasting pan; season with salt and pepper. Roast, tossing once, until potatoes are golden, 20 to 25 minutes.
  2. Salt underside of chicken (the bones).  Place chicken, skin side up, on top of potatoes; lightly season with salt and pepper. Roast until chicken begins to brown, about 20 minutes.
  3. Scatter asparagus, lemon, remaining butter, and thyme around chicken. Roast until asparagus is tender and chicken is opaque throughout, 5 to 15 minutes. Serve chicken, vegetables, and lemon drizzled with pan juices.

** Fun Note**  I finally got to use my new Bernardaud Digital plates!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

