Skip to content

Pea and Mint Salad (Easter Dinner)

April 19, 2009

Yes, I am still posting Easter Dinner recipes!  This Spring Pea Salad recipe from Real Simple was absolutely divine for the start of spring.  I almost followed it exactly (a rarity) but decided to lightly saute the shallots (since raw onion-type on my stomach is not a good feeling) and I played with this special cheese I found at Whole Foods: Goat cheese mozzarella shaped like little pasta ears.

I served this first course with Brander’s 2007 Cuvée Natalie, one of my absolute favorite wines.  It is a blend of Sauvignon Blanc, Riesling, and Pinot Grigio and is very crisp!  It has mineral and lemon notes which make me swoon and if not served too cold, you can even pick up some beautiful floral notes.  It reminds me of a more crowd-pleasing version of an Alsacian Gewurtz because of the mineral and floral and just a hint of sweetness.

Please note this picture is from Real Simple, as I forgot to take my own.

PEA AND MINT SALAD

Ingredients

1/2 cup fresh mint leaves, torn
1 tablespoon capers, roughly chopped
1 small shallot, thinly sliced
1 teaspoon grated lemon zest
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil, plus 1 Tablespoon
1/8 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1 pound frozen organic green peas, thawed and steamed for 1 minute only
1/2 cup shaped goat cheese mozzarella

Directions

  1. On medium high-heat, saute shallots in pan until translucent
  2. In a medium bowl, combine the mint, capers, shallot, zest, oil, salt, and pepper.
  3. Add the peas and goat cheese and toss gently. Serve at room temperature.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

