Skip to content

Mediterranean Salmon and Chardonnay

April 7, 2009

Spring Dinner

My hubby treated me to another wonderful spring dinner (I could get used to this).  He served roasted wild salmon with a raita yogurt sauce, cucumber-tomato salad (which marinated all-day) and brown rice.

I chose a rich and luscious wine to pair, the 2006 Gloria Ferrer Carneros Chardonnay.  Aged in french oak, it was just a nice hint of toasted caramel, which for me is a plus because I can be overwhelmed by the butter and vanilla roasting marshmallows of American Oak.  Lots of apples with a surprising hint of melon and floral notes.  $12.99  Given a 91 from Wine Enthusiast.  I would give it a solid 90 – good QPR for an easily available Chard.

Sunday evening we opened the wine fridge and realized we were dangerously low on wine, so we quickly ran out to Costco before closing time.  We picked up a little over a case of some great wines as I was very impressed with the prices and the new selections.  Costco now posts tasting notes and ratings (if any) of each wine.  Picked up 3 bottles of Kim Crawford SB for only $10 each, which is a great price for one of my favorite  every-day whites. 

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

